TNR Tape

I have been looking for the perfect solution to affix my bib numbers to my kits for years. I, like most people, started with safety pinning my numbers to my kits for triathlon, cycling, and running. After having a few kits damaged from using safety pins I started my quest to find another solution. In the past I have tried double stick tape, spray adhesive, magnets, and a few other, but my tried and true has been the race number belt. The race number belt is easy to attach a number to and it doesn’t damage my kits. However, the major problem with a race number belt is the aerodynamics. I am the guy that modifies every bib I get to make it more aerodynamic and flexible. I have been using a race number belt religiously for the past decade while always wondering how much speed I am sacrificing to my flailing bib. This all stops now! I have found the holy grail of bib number affixing and it is TNR Tape!

I first learned about TNR Tapefrom the Bike Shop CXpodcast, which if you haven’t listened to it you are missing out on some serious bike nerding. At first, I didn’t think much about it because it was being advertised to be used for cyclocross racing. I haven’t race cyclocross since my oldest child was born 8 years ago. I love watching cyclocross and daydreaming about riding through the mud on my ‘cross rig (yes, I have raced in years, but I have a ‘cross bike). Then I got to thinking about “if it works for ‘cross it should work for running!” I contacted TNR Tape and asked them if they had every tried it before. TNR Tape said that they hadn’t developed it for running and to the best of their knowledge no one had tried it either, but they didn’t see why it wouldn’t work. I said I would like to try it out and give them some feedback. TNR Tape stressed their product was not design for anything but ‘cross and cycling kits so they didn’t know how the tape would perform.

A week or two later I got my first pack along with a test bib. It had a lot of detailed instruction on how to attach the tape. Being my first time to use the tape I followed these instructions to the finest detail. I put the tape on the bib the night before and attached the bib to my shirt an hour before I was planning on going for a run. Then I went for a two-hour run during a flashflood. If you are going to test something out you better test it! TNR Tape exceeded my expectations in every way. It held tight for the whole experience and then easily peeled off leaving nothing behind. Like I said, the holy grail of bib affixing. Now that this test “run” was complete it was time to see what TNR Tape could really do. I left the tape attached to the test bib for a week without putting the backing back on the tape or attaching it to anything that would keep the tape fresh. TNR Tape has tested putting the backing back on the tape if the number is going to be used the next and had positive results. I had my doubts that my test was going to go well so I decided to do a shorter run. I also decided I was going to attach it just before I started my run, mainly because I forgot about attaching an hour before. The tape held true for the whole run and peeled off again without leaving any residue. Now I really had to test it! I left the same tape attached to the test bib and then left it in my garage for the past month with no backing. I live in Fort Worth, TX and it is December. We have seen temperature swings from the mid 80s to the low 20s. Yesterday I attached the test bib just before heading out for a 30-minute run. I touch the tape before affixing the test bib to my shorts for quick sticky test and the outlook was not good. Well, TNR Tape pulled through (sorry for the bad dad joke but this is Dad’s Endurance Garage). Three of the four pieces of tape stayed affix for the whole run. One piece didn’t stay attached to my shorts and the rest were just barely holding on. But again, this is a month after the original use, being left exposed to a wide range of temperatures, and being attach right before going for a run!

Needless to say, I’m completely sold on this product when it comes to any running and cycling event. TNR Tape has informed me they don’t recommend keeping the tape affixed to any type of clothing for more than six hours. This is due to the tape being an adhesive which will continue to adhere to clothing more and more. TNR Tape has found after about six hours the tape will be harder to remove from clothing without leaving some of itself behind. At some point I will have to put this time limit to the test. I also want to see how it holds up for a triathlon. Keep an eye out on my social media accounts.

Check out TNR Tape at https://tnr-tape.com 

https://www.instagram.com/tnr_tape/

Published by donutendurance

Endurance junkie with a donut problem. Gravel racer and trail runner. Ambassador for Mellow Johnny's Bike Shop Fort Worth and Honey Stinger. Tester for TNR Tape. Friend of Chamois Butt'r and Splat Sunscreen. Defeet Barnstormer Chapter Leader.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started